TRS retains Nagarjunasagar seat with 18,000 votes, mojo back | Sidnaz Blog


Nomula Bhagat with his mother after the bypoll victory

HYDERABAD: The ruling Telangana Rashtra Samithi on Sunday retained the Nagarjunasagar assembly seat in the keenly-contested bypoll with its candidate Nomula Bhagat trouncing Congress veteran K Jana Reddy by a margin of 18,872 votes.
TRS candidate Bhagat polled 89,804 while his nearest Congress rival K Jana Reddy secured 70,932 votes. Bharatiya Janata Party, which got 7,676 votes, lost its deposit.
The assembly seat fell vacant following the death of TRS MLA Nomula Narasimhaiah and the ruling party fielded his son Nomula Bhagat in the bypoll.
TRS delpoyed a large contingent of its leaders, including several ministers and MLAs, at mandal and village level to ensure Bhagat’s victory. Chief minister K Chandrasekhar Rao himself addressed two public meetings in the constituency.
Bhagat maintained lead in every round of the counting and was declared winner in the 26th round. The TRS secured of 47.1% of the total votes polled, while Congress got 37.2% and BJP a measly 4%. Over 0.2% voters preferred NOTA.
While in 2018 polls, Bhagat’s father Narasimhaiah won over Congress candidate Jana Reddy by 7,726 votes, the ruling party improved its victory margin hugely in the byelection.
The Telugu Desam Party, which once had a sizeable voter base in the constituency, has been relegated to the fourth place with just 1,714 votes. A total of 41 candidates were in the fray and none of the independents made any mark.
Bhagat has attributed his victory to CM K Chandrasekhar Rao’s good governance and welfare schemes of the TRS government.
Chandrasekhar Rao thanked the people of Nagarjunasagar assembly constituency for electing Bhagat with a big majority. He said the promises made during the electioneering would be fulfilled and he would soon undertake a tour of the constituency along with Bhagat.
“Counting has been done as per the Covid-19 safety protocols. Polling personnel and counting agents were allowed into counting halls only after they showed negative RT-PCR test result reports. ECI had directed that no victory rallies should be allowed,” Telangana chief electoral officer Shashank Goel told TOI.
Ministers Talasani Srinivas Yadav, Srinivas Goud and other TRS leaders celebrated the Nagarjunasagar victory at the party headquarters in Banjara Hills.



Source link