Telangana: Notification for polls to Legislative Council in | Sidnaz Blog


HYDERABAD: Intense lobbying is on for the seven vacant seats in Telangana State Legislative Council with indications that the Commission of India may issue a poll notification for six seats in August.
The ECI has written a letter to the state government asking about the coronavirus situation in the state. It will take a decision on issuing poll notification based on the reply from the government, which sources said is in favour of completing the Council elections.
The lobbying for the seven seats is intense as a berth in the Council is guaranteed. The ruling party has enough MLAs to send six of its leaders to council under MLAs quota without a contest. The opposition is unlikely to contest as it does not have numbers on its side.
Apart from six MLCs, the term of another MLC M Srinivas Reddy elected under the Governor quota ended on June 17.
Earlier, the ECI had postponed the council elections as there was a rise in Covid-19 cases during the second wave of the pandemic. The term of six TRS members in the council expired on June 3—council chairman Gutha Sukender Reddy, deputy chairperson Neti Vidyasagar, former deputy CM Kadiyam Srihari, chief whip B Venkateshwarlu, Md Fareeduddn and Akula Lalitha.
A senior leader in the ruling TRS told TOI that aspirants are keeping their fingers crossed as KCR made many promises to leaders at the time of their joining TRS.


Source link

Tagged : / / / / / / / /

Telangana: MLC election vote today, stakes high for TRS & | Sidnaz Blog


HYDERABAD: The stage is set for the high-stakes Sunday’s polling to the Legislative Council from two graduates’ constituencies where 164 candidates are testing their luck to become MLCs.
Polling would be held from 8am to 4pm for Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahbubnagar and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda Graduates’ constituencies.
As many as 93 candidates are contesting from Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahbubnagar constituency while 71 are in the fray from the Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituency.
Sunday’s polling has all the trappings of high-octane election — a jumbo ballot paper and large ballot boxes — unheard of in an MLC election before.
Capping the high-voltage campaign spread over the last 25 days, over 10 lakh voters in Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahbubnagar and Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda constituencies will exercise their franchise to decide the fate of 164 candidates.
Three major parties — TRS, BJP and Congress — independents and some smaller parties are vying for the honours.
Even counting of votes is likely to be a long-drawn process. Though it will be taken up on March 17, the wrapping up of counting and announcement of the result is expected to take 2-3 days.
The poll outcome has become a matter of prestige for both the TRS and BJP, especially after the reverses the ruling party had suffered in Dubbak assembly bypoll and GHMC election. The TRS wants to prove a point or two. It wants to win the MLC seats at all costs and prove that the BJP’s win in Dubbak and GHMC elections was just a one-off and that there was no ‘anti-incumbency’ factor against the KCR government.
On the other hand, the saffron party is keen to continue its victory march and emerge as the only alternative to the TRS in the state by bagging both the seats. The party believes a win in both the seats would further cement its position as an alternative among the voters and provide a big fillip to mount a serious challenge to TRS in the Nagarjunasagar assembly bypoll and be within the striking distance of their goal of winning the 2023 assembly elections.
Since the graduate constituencies are spread over 6 districts and dubbed as ‘mini assembly’ polls, the major parties strained every nerve and ran a high-pitched campaign to convince voters.
Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahbubnagar is currently held by the BJP and the party has renominated incumbent N Ramchander Rao. Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda seat was won last time by the TRS, which fielded Palla Rajeshwar Reddy again.
While Congress is hoping to win at least one seat, independent candidate K Nageshwar in Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahbubnagar and TJS president M Kodandaram in Warangal-Khammam-Nalgonda are confident of scoring an upset win.
TRS president and CM K Chandrasekhar Rao got into the thick of the poll action and sprang a surprise by fielding former prime minister PV Narasimha Rao’s daughter, educationist Surabhi Vani Devi from Hyderabad-Rangareddy-Mahbubnagar seat. Party working president KT Rama Rao addressed several meetings of lawyers, teachers, correspondents, caste associations to enlist support for Vani Devi.
All the parties and independents went all out to lure government employees, caste associations, lawyers and teachers seeking their vote.


Source link

Tagged : / / / / / / / / /

In PM Modi’s Varanasi, BJP | Sidnaz Blog



Samajwadi Party’s Ashutosh Sinha won the Varanasi Division Graduates’ seat on Saturday.


In a setback for the BJP in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Varanasi constituency, the party has lost two seats in the legislative council elections after holding on to them for 10 years. Both the seats – one reserved for teachers and the other for graduates – were won by Samajwadi Party candidates.

On Saturday, the Samajwadi Party’s Ashutosh Sinha won the Varanasi Division Graduates’ seat a day after his party colleague Lal Bihari Yadav won from teachers’ constituency.

Polling was held on Tuesday for 11 seats to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council – the upper house of the state legislature with five reserved for graduates and six for teachers. The term of the members, known as MLCs, had expired on May 6. Teachers’ associations linked to the BJP, Samajwadi Party and the Congress had fought the polls, with 199 candidates in the contest.

With results for two seats still pending on Saturday, the BJP had won four of the 11 seats, the Samajwadi Party three and independent candidates won two. Despite a favourable tally for the ruling party, the Samajwadi Party’s gains in the BJP stronghold have surprised many.

“It’s a big victory. I am happy with our result,” Lal Bihari Yadav, the Samajwadi candidate in the Varanasi Division Teachers’ Constituency said.


Uttar Pradesh is one of the six states in India with a bicameral legislature, with two houses – the Vidhan Sabha or the Legislative Assembly and the Vidhan Parishad or the Legislative Council. The legislative council has 100 members.

PM Modi has been elected to the Lok Sabha twice from Varanasi, winning the elections first in 2014 with a huge 36 per cent margin over Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and a bigger 45 per cent margin over the Samajwadi Party candidate in 2019. Before him, the Varanasi Lok Sabha seat was held by BJP veteran Murli Manohar Joshi.

(With inputs from agencies)

Source link

Tagged : / /