Rate this post


(Picture used for representational purpose only)

HYDERABAD: Justice T Amarnath Goud of the Telangana high court has convicted six officers in a contempt case and sentenced them to jail for six months along with a penalty of Rs 2,000 each.
The judge convicted IAS officers — A Santha Kumari (special chief secretary of environment and forest sciences) and D Amoy Kumar (Rangareddy district collector) — and IFS officers — R Shobha (principal chief conservator of forests) and Sunita M Bhagwat — and along with divisional forest officer Janakiram and additional collector and forest settlement officer S Tirupati Rao in the case and imposed jail terms and penalties on them.
The judge handed out the sentences for violating the court orders in a land case in Rangareddy district.
The judge handed out the sentences under the Contempt of Courts Act for violating the court orders issued in respect of 383 acres of land belonging to Mohammed Sirajuddin and nine others of Maheswaram mandal in Rangareddy district.
The land was sought to be converted into a reserve forest by dispossessing the owners of their property. Despite advice from the forest settlement officer that the action of the revenue and forest officials was not feasible and despite a court order to either acquire the land or return the same to the owners, the officials had failed to do so inviting contempt of court charges.



Source link